July 2, 2009 at 10:15 pm (Uncategorized)

Rodney P – The nice up

I don’t love this music, but I like it. I don’t love this video style, but I like it.

As a composite, though, this video delivers. The editing tells such a rich narrative about each party who takes a ride in this crazy taxi, all within 5 to 10 seconds of video, all the while weaving the portrait of a cabby’s even-headed perspective on those 15 to 20 minute slices of British life.

Set in London, something tells me that the artists themselves get a serious kick out of the juxtaposition of old Brit style running right up against their gold-toothed grills.

I’ve watched it twice since I found it through the strange Tako Truk of Seattle, whose webpage really does make me want to check Twitter for their up-to-the-minute menu announcements and 86s.

Leave a Reply

